For the last couple of months we’ve been seriously considering putting our house on the market. When we started looking at our house through the eyes of a potential buyer, however, we found a LOT that needed updating. Project #1: The hardwood floors in the kitchen & dining area. I know better than to attempt this project myself – a large sander in an enclose space just doesn’t sound like a good combination to me. Last week we jumped right in and had our floors redone. Goodbye orangey-yellow “honey oak” (left half of pictures) and hello new, scratch-free red oak (right half of pictures)! Now our main floor matches the wood in our downstairs family room. It’s so much better…except now the cabinets don’t match. I guess I know what Project #2 is going to be!

Stairs before/after

Stairs before/after

 

Dining area before/after

Dining area before/after

Kitchen before/after

Kitchen before/after

 

