A customer at work came in to pick up her wedding programs today. I had designed her wedding invitations earlier in the year so we had been talking/emailing back and forth since January. Her wedding is this weekend so when she was on her way out the door I made the now-known etiquette blunder of wishing her good luck. Two coworkers immediately brought this mistake to my attention. Apparently, wishing a bride good luck is often seen as a sarcastic wish. It’s much better to say “best wishes” instead. So I started thinking about it and have to admit I’ve said “good luck” with a tone of sarcasm to people other than brides more than once. I’ve also said “congratulations,” “good job,” “thank you” and a long list of other phrases sarcastically. Apparently I tend to be a very sarcastic person. Who’s to say any or all of these phrases should no longer be said when sending someone well wishes?

This also got me thinking of other rules of etiquette people seem to have forgotten: holding the door open, being punctual, NOT driving through the “do not enter” entrance at the school’s parking lot, or parking in the crosswalk. Not to mention all of the new etiquette rules for Facebook, Twitter, texting, cell phones and emailing. While it seems some rules of etiquette have fallen by the wayside we’ve also picked up a few more for our changing society. Obviously I am no etiquette expert. It’s hard enough to get my daughter to remember to say “please” and “thank you” (rules of etiquette I don’t foresee ever going away). I believe you can take anything that anyone says to you as sarcasm if you want, or you can hope that people simply mean what they say and say what they mean. In the end, just try to be nice.

Stepping down from my soap box now…

