Last weekend was the Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa/Western Illinois annual event “Girls Go Global.” I, along with another Daisy Mom took 5 of the girls from the troop to learn about conserving the Earth’s resources and get lots of free goodies! The highlight of the event was the company that is providing the snacks for this year’s Fall product sale (nuts, trail mix, magazines). They had a 12-foot table filled with plush dolphins that the girls were all VERY excited to get!

At the opening of the event there was a little ceremony. Some older Girl Scouts came out with a US flag, the Iowa flag and a Girl Scout flag. Then we all recited the Pledge of Allegiance and the Girl Scout Promise…except for several little girls who didn’t know which hand to put on their heart let along the words to the Pledge. I then remembered that they don’t teach it in schools anymore because of the “G” word. I think I’m going to teach the girls in our troop the Pledge of Allegiance to recite at the start of all our meetings along with the Girl Scout promise. I’m sure I’ll have to run it by all the parents first, though.

Just in case you aren’t familiar with the Girl Scout Promise: On my honor, I will try: to serve God and my country, to help people at all times, and to live by the Girl Scout Law.

