That’s actually the title of a children’s book by Grace Lin. It’s also what took place last weekend with my mom, sisters, nieces, Audrey and I in Chicago’s Chinatown last Saturday. Andrea, Emily and my mom were initially going to be the only ones to visit Rebecca & Maggie for the weekend. I heard about the visit and decided Audrey and I should join in. We all hadn’t been together for more than 5 minutes since last June when my sisters and I went to the Keith Urban concert at Summerfest (who could forget that night). It was a surprise for Andrea, though…and Emily. Just to keep it interesting!

All 3 generations of us packed in to the Taylor minivan (with Audrey and Maggie watching a movie from the 3rd seat with their awesome wireless headphones) and headed downtown. We started off with char siu bao (bbq pork biscuits), shu mai, spring rolls, congee (a thick rice soup) and my moms favorite, chicken feet. Emily mastered the art of eating with chopsticks at the young age of 2 and we ate until we could eat no more. Then we headed to the Chinese grocery store and the bakery (so Rebecca could buy every sponge cake they had…see post about Labor Day 2009). After resting on the drive home, we put our mom to work on a huge Chinese feast for dinner. There was roast duck, more bbq pork, crab, clams, shrimp and pea pod greens. Dessert (of course there was a dessert) was sponge cake layered with fresh fruit in the middle and honeydew & cantaloupe melon balls on top. I won’t say what the melons resembled or what we now call that special cake. Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of it either. It was a great weekend but I think I’m still full.

