I’m not sure how many of you read my post last summer about the garage sale we had during North Liberty Fun Days. In it I mentioned 2 dolls I was trying to sell. “Hideous” and “freaky” were 2 words Audrey used to describe them. They were given to my aunt by my great-grandfather in the late 1960’s. They had also been stored in each of my sister’s basements until I announced I was having a garage sale. It was up to me to sell the dolls or at least find someone who would appreciate and give them a suitable home. I ended up finding someone who collected dolls so I gladly donated them to her cause.

Fast forward to last week: with Christmas right around the corner we’ve been receiving our fair share of retail catalogs. I found the adorable “Patti Playpal Doll” on the 2nd to last page. She just won’t leave me alone!!! Brand new she retails for the low, low price of $169.99. Among the several positive reviews on the product web page is the comment: “Retro Patti Playpal is just like the one I so enjoyed as a child! My niece will find her to be a real confidant and playmate as they gently play dress-up and have tea-time. After all, Patti is more than a doll, but a true-keepsake!” -Aunt Mel, Chicago, IL.

Someone missed their big chance at a collector’s item!

