canopy1Mike was at work for 13 hours last Saturday so Audrey and I spent the morning watching HGTV. We were inspired to put a canopy over Audrey’s bed (the hoop kind, not the 4-poster) and get plants for my garden that wasn’t put together yet. I couldn’t find a ready-made canopy at the store and didn’t feel like searching online. Audrey suggested that if we just went to Jo-Ann Fabrics I could get whatever I needed to make one myself. Easy peasy, right? That’s exactly what I was thinking when I finished it at 11:30 that night.

Sunday morning I put Mike to work on my garden. WE built two 3×6-foot frames and filled them with dirt and compost. 3×6 didn’t turn out to be as big as I thought it gardenwould and I kind of over estimated on the dirt…by double. I planted carrots, broccoli, brussels sprouts, cherry tomatoes (red and yellow), beans, cilantro and basil with a border of marigolds to help keep out the rabbits (my neighbor boy is doing a pretty good rabbit catcher, though). I just need to get some pea pod seeds and I’ll be all set! Oh, we also filled another planter box with a mix of perennial seeds. Hopefully we’ll have good luck this year!

