We went to the Iowa State Fair yesterday. Of course I don’t have any pictures to show for it because I’m a horrible mother and didn’t bring my camera (nor was I reminded by my husband to bring it). I remember the days when Audrey was little and the camera was strapped to my wrist 24 hours a day for fear of missing some milestone. Now that she’s 5 and off to kindergarten in less than a week the camera stays in its case more than it should. I DO have a picture in my phone of when she got to meet Clifford the Big Red Dog and give him a big hug!

This was our first trip to the Iowa State Fair. We’ve lived in Iowa for 3 years now and I figured it was time we go. The weather was beautiful. We ate corn dogs, smoked ham sandwiches,  and cotton candy and a funnel cake for dessert. No pork chop-on-a-stick. The line for them was almost as long as the line for cream puffs at the Wisconsin State Fair! I also passed on the deep fried cheese curds…they didn’t look like they would measure up to the ones I had growing up “Up Nort” in Wisconsin. Audrey had a BLAST – even on the “Dizzy Dragons” ride (a kid’s version of the Tilt-A-Whirl). I walked away more nauseous than dizzy! She also loved watching a dance recital with kids ranging from age 3 to about 18. I told Audrey you can only get cotton candy at the fair so now she can’t wait until next year! I think I’ll call the dentist tomorrow to make an appointment for her.

