Iowa’s annual bike ride, RAGBRAI (the Register’s Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa), stopped in North Liberty today. RAGBRAI is the longest (7 days), largest and oldest touring bicycle ride in the world. Every year the route is different and this year North Liberty was picked to be one of the overnight stops.

My day started as a volunteer at 6am pounding wooden stakes in the ground (with 3 coworkers) for pirate flags meant to greet the riders as they arrived. The theme for the North Liberty leg of the ride was piratey which was the reason for the flags. I think we put up close to 50. I’ve got a nice blister on my finger to show for my efforts!  The city was overcome with more than 20,000 bicyclists. Audrey saw all the tents set up on the way home from school and thought it looked like a lot of fun. Streets are closed, food vendors are set up, it’s quite a sight!

A coworker of mine is trying to assemble a team for next year’s ride and seems to think that since I rode my bike to work today (to avoid street closures and traffic congestion) that I’m up for the challenge of next year’s ride. Or at least 2 days of it.  Eighty miles each day on my bike? I don’t think so!

